Monday, November 2, 2015

Ambrosia & the Outer Planes, Pt. II

The Elemental Planes: Calidaran cosmology recognizes four primordial planes—Pyros (Energy), Hydros (Fluid), Aerion (Essence), and Tellurion (Matter). With the ethereal, these are also known as the Inner Planes. Each of these planes possesses regions where elements take different properties and appearances. For example, Tellurion includes regions dominated by rock, or sand, or metals, or crystals, or possibly even wood, etc. Despite what labels imply, there are such things as liquid crystal and liquid metals (unrelated to heat), or solid water, solid air, as well as liquid or solid fire, etc. Pyros likely splits into a number of sub-planes featuring various forms of energy (see next section), and so on with each of the elements. These aspects of primordial planes enable referees to create thematic realms for the heroes to visit. The magic that brings them there allows survival in deadly environments. Monsters may be natives of these planes. Others dwelling in the prime universe can also enjoy affinities with specific elements, like a fire-breathing dragon for example.

Elemental planes also connect with demi-planes, which are parallel regions (dust, ashes, steam, cloud, lava, ice, plasma, and void). Elemental void is the absence of all other elements. Some creatures may hail from demi-planes (except elemental void presumably), such as dust devils, steam sprites, lava weevils, etc. Native monsters of the prime universe can also bear affinities to demi-planes, such as cloud and frost giants. The prime universe is where all primordial elements combine and are bound by laws of physics. A plane of elemental chaos also exists, where laws of physics, probabilities, and logic never apply. In this plane, the elements remain in flux whereas they are stable in the prime universe. Elemental order suffuses the other primordial planes to varying degrees.

To be continued. . .

No comments:

Post a Comment